06/23/2015 (Day 2)

0747

I’m sitting here at the southernmost point of the USA looking out at the ocean and how beautiful it is. I’ve already started meeting some wonderful people I’ve been helping people out take their picture while i wait on the press guy to come and interview me. I can’t wait to get this trip started, I’m very encouraged how it’s going so far and I know that through my friends and to the help of the Lord this is just going to be a great trip. I was able last night to sleep in a marina in an enclosed area put my hammock up I got a very good night’s sleep. Mariners hospital in Tavernier Florida donated a pillow and some nice light sheets they were light weight for me to carry They gave me a nice meal and a sandwich to take with me with some waters, and invited me to stop back by when I’m heading north and take a shower and clean up which will be awesome. I’m not sure how today is going to work if I can get done with the media people early enough I’m going to go ahead and try to walk out of Key West if not I was offered to stay at the marina again tonight so I can get a start at 5 a.m. . It’s kind of a long hike to get out of Key West and I have to do it in one shot or I’ll get stuck in the area without a comfortable place and safe place for me to crash. I’m going to start posting more pictures on facebook spend more time on the blog and hopefully have a lot of encouraging stories to tell from these people I’m meeting from all over the world. I’ve had a lot of commitments from people that they’re going to donate to this cause! I have my children and some contractors that have committed to helping me organize work for needy veterans. So this is where it starts its taking me a week to get here and get my gear somewhat organized and try and get a plan put together. My first rest stop will be back in Brevard County to spend a night or two at my daughters house to let my feet rest get cleaned up and get a couple good meals in me, then it’ll be on to Jacksonville to hang out with my brothers up there at Trinity. I’ll post more later on after meeting with the media and let you guys know how it goes.

1915

The meeting with the reporter and photographer went great they seemed excited about our project. I spent the day walking around site seeing. I received a phone call from JP the guy I met last night and invited me to his buddy’s house to have dinner and relax in the ac. He is a really good cook and grilled vegetables. Also avocado and chips. I’m not sure where I’m going to stay tonight. I might just put the hammock up in his backyard if it’s okay or go back and stay under the marina and take off early morning. I will post a couple pictures on Facebook from today This is going to be a short blog post. I’m going to go a short distance tomorrow 10 our 15 miles. I need to get used to the heat and weight.
Much love to all

Craig White. Blog – usainstrides.WordPress.com / Facebook & e-mail – whitecraig321@gmail.com / gofundme.com/USA_IN_STRIDES

Leave a Reply

